Testimonials

Take a look at some feedback from past hunts!
  • Alden ClarkWaterford, CT
    • Thank you Ron for an amazing week hunting black bear in the Maine North woods with my father.  After 6 straight days of hunting, I was rewarded with a beautiful 429 lb boar on the last day of the season!  Bear hunting is tough in the sense it is hard to stay focused for the whole week.  You start thinking about leaving the stand early, going home early, etc. but Ron kept us motivated.  There was plenty of action on the cameras, but the bears were mostly nocternal and we just had to wait it out until one made a mistake.  Ron assured me that the odds only get better as the week goes on and he worked his ass off to ensure the best chance.  Although my father did not shoot a bear, he did have the pleasure of one coming in just after shooting hours, and also had a moose come by so close he could of jumped on its back from the stand!  The adrenaline rush of taking aim at a bear and leaving a bait site in the dark with no flashlights and bears in close quarters is something I will never forget, as well as the racket of a moose I encountered in the dark on the trail out.  Saw some beautiful sunsets and there is nothing more tranquil that the silence of the woods at dusk in northern Maine.  This, my friends, is bear hunting!!!  Thank you Ron, looking forward to many more hunts!!
      • Wednesday, 25 November 2015 17:18
  • Dave KeilPittsburgh, PA
    • My father and I hunted Black Bear for the first time this September with Ron and had a great time. I was able to take a mature bear with a bow. I shot my bear on the second night at 5 pm so not a lot of time was spent in the stand. This was the first bear I have ever seen and the first one I harvested. My father hunted all week and did not see a bear, but with the temps being so high the bears were moving at dark. Ron never gave up throughout and tried everything in his power to get my dad a bear. The cabin we stayed in was beautiful and made for a great time. The whole experience hunting black bear with Ron was unforgettable and I cannot wait to go back up and do it again. I would highly recommend North Maine Woods Guide Service! 
      • Tuesday, 24 November 2015 13:01
  • Sid LarkToledo, Ohio
    • I hunted Black Bear with North Maine Woods Guide Service during the last week of the 2014 season.
      This was the second year that I hunted with Ron. I could hunt anywhere but chose to hunt with Ron again due to his professionalism and dedication.
      I only hunt with a handgun which complictes all the variables. Once Ron understood my "mission" he went above and beyond to assist
      me in my quest.
      There are many unique challanges to hunting Black Bear with a hangun which Ron understood and went above and beyond to meet and exceed.
      By mid week of my hunt I was successful in tagging a beautiful male Bear which is already at the Taxidermists in the process of becoming a full mount.
      Everytime that I look at the mount I will reflect on the great week of hunting at North Maine Woods Guide Service to include Ron and his family.
      As excited as I was to successfully tag my "handgun Bear", Ron was equally as jubilant. He and I became partners in my quest and his heartfelt enthusiasm was humbling. 
      Thanks Ron for all your efforts in creating special memories for me!
      • Monday, 20 October 2014 00:00
  • Al LarsonNiantic, CT
    • I hunted Black Bear for the first time this year with Ron and had a great time. I was able to take a beautiful sow. Ron works hard to put his hunters on bears and works just as hard to recover them. The bear I shot ran down a very steep embankment and across a steam. Ron brought a big tub/sled to float the bear back across so we wouldn't damage the hide. Aside from the hunting, his cabins are very nice also, he even changed his tv package so we could watch football. Thanks again Ron, I'll be back.
      • Saturday, 20 September 2014 00:00
  • Tom BlackMarion, KY
    • Ron,
      Thank you so very much for an unforgettable hunt. I couldn't have done it without you. We are looking forward to returning next season for another try. Thanks again.
      Tom Black
      • Friday, 12 September 2014 00:00
  • tim wrightnorthdakota
    • I had another great time this year. the autumn colors on the trees were incredible this year. I am looking forward to hunting with Ron again this year always five star hospitality.It is always a very relaxing vacation for me. I would recommend Ron over a lot other guides very professional and works very hard at what he does. He always goes above and beyond what you expect a guide to do to ensure a comfortable stay and a memorable hunt of a life time. Thanks for another great year and sign me up on another hunt for next year as I know bookings are filling up fast.
      • Thursday, 02 January 2014 00:00
  • Sid LarkToledo Ohio
    • I hunted Black Bear with Ron Ricciardi the second week of September of 2013. 
      I have hunted with many guides/outfitters over a 40 year period and Ron was A+ all the way. I restricted myself to hunting with a handgun which brings with it a few unique challanges which Ron was more than willing to work with me on
      The area is fantastic as is the camp and the cabin was great with full accomodations. My wife was with me on this hunt and she was delighted with everything that the camp/cabin offered. When she is happy......... I am happy 
      The area is rich in larger than average Bears and the habitat is some of the best Bear country that I've ever hunted. 
      I highly recommend North Main Woods Guide Service and Ron Ricciardi. Ron will work hard to meet your expectations and in fact will likely exceed them.
      The hunting operation is for "Trophy" quality animals so expect to hunt hard and follow Ron's advice. He wants you to take a trophy animal as much as you do and will do everything possible to make that happen. 

      Thanks for a great week Ron!!
      • Sunday, 03 November 2013 00:00
  • Shane DufresneCT
    • Another great year of bear hunting with Ron. I brought up my 3rd different hunting partner this year. Like the other 2, he shot a big bear. Although I did not get one this year, I saw a few. Since I shot my state record 536 pounder in 2008, I'm a little spoiled and more picky....lol....As always the food was great and the cabin was incredible. I'll be up in November for deer hunting....
      • Monday, 28 October 2013 00:00
  • Joshua Galbraith/Dennis EckertPennsylvania
    • Although regrettably this was my first time attending the hunt with Ron my good friend Dennis has been making it a yearly trip for three years and both of us could not have been more impressed with Ron's ability as an outfitter. Dennis has brought down very nice bears in the past two years and has passed stories onto me that fueled my yearning to tag along for his yearly trip to the beautiful north Maine countryside. Due to an outstanding amount of natural food for the bears this season neither of us were able to bring a beauty down but that did not stop us from having the time of our lives. There is nothing that Ron did not try to do in order to attract the bears to us, but there is only so much you can do until its up to the bears themselves. We did see bear, although they came in slightly too late to shoot, which is more than any other outfitter could say for their bait sites. Even without bagging a bear the hunt was intense and exciting the whole way through and challenged you as a hunter to concentrate on bringing your A game and bettering your ability to become scent free to attract the bears. The cabins are incredibly well built and offer all the amenities of your own home! The Eagle lake area is beautiful and offers many possibilities for the outdoor connoisseur. There are numerous trails for riding atv's and dirtbikes along with plentiful fishing holes and trails to hike all around you. All in all my trip to the north woods of Maine was the best vacation I have taken to date and I will be booking my stay there shortly for the next season. Thankyou Ron and of course Nelson as well, you are both great guys and made my and Dennis's stay that much more enjoyable. See you next year!!!
      • Wednesday, 04 September 2013 00:00
  • Luciano SbrogliaGurupi, Tocantins - Brasil
  • Simply awesome!!
    Thanks Ron, for receiving me so well in his land and have made every effort to make my hunt was successful! Their dedication and commitment to their customer's that make all the difference. It is no wonder that you are considered one of the best big game hunting guides in Maine.
    I left Brazil with a suitcase full of hope and expectation and came back with a beautiful trophy, thanks to his work.
    Congratulations and thank you!
    Next year I'll be out there to hunt a moose and possibly some White Tail Deer.
    Wait for me!!
    • Luciano Sbroglia - Bowhunter
      Gurupi TO - Brazil
      • Thursday, 14 March 2013 00:00
  • Nelson Neto JuniorBrazil
    • September of 2012, my riend Luciano Sbroglia and I, both comes from Brazil, reached Eagle lake, excited with our most hunting defiance until now!
      The American Black Bear hunting!!!!
      A easygoing guy full of energy and sense of humor meet us in front the cabin, this guy was Ron Ricciardi, our Master guide.
      The cabin was a delight, log home full of deer and bears trophies and the food..........excellent!
      Just a couple time after our arriving Ron ask us:
      - Are you ready for hunting?
      - Sure, of course..........absolutely!!!!!
      I got a Marlin model 336 in 35 Reminton caliber and Luciano grab your bow.
      - So, lets go!
      3 days pass and no one bear for Luciano, for me just a mamma bear and 3 cubs, it was the last week of bears season and of course we
      need get our bears!
      Whit a lot incentive, good humor, a lot of efforts and professionalism, Ron took us to different baits, so..........its happened!!!
      In the penultimate day, I was in my bait........taking a nap and must be woke up by my self snoring (LOL) and I saw that beauty comes
      to my bait, my hart starts pumping fast, she ( was a very fat female ) came smelling the air, stops and surreptitiously stars to walk in opposite direction!
      She must be felt my smell, for sure!
      ......I hang on my breath and though.........
      - Oh my God...........I'm going to loose it!
      So, like a dream a tunnel trough the threes , branches and leafs opened, I pull the trigger and the 336 shot!
      I herd the bear running a little bit and stops, I put another bullet in the chamber and I went down of the bait.
      The bear was just a few yards from I`d shot it, just one shot into the hart, the 35 Remington works fine.
      I thing it was near of the hunting ends time because was dark already, I walked until Ron`s truck and try to got him telling I won't has luck!
      - Really?????
      - Gotcha!!!!!
      - I knew, your face is shinning, let's collect it!
      Well, for cut a little bit, it was a beautiful female fat like a beer's barrel whit a wonderful fur weighing 245lb!!!!
      But my friend Luciano don't had the same lucky.............yet!
      Ron put Luciano in a place where a lot of great bears was photographed before, that was the last day of bear's season and back to Brazil
      without a bear, would be sad.............a lot!
      But Ron does everything right, of course, like a great Master Guide, he knew what Luciano going to got his bear, and the last day and hour
      of bear's season, Luciano call us:
      - Guys.............I got it, I got it !!!!!!
      Ron and I runs to Luciano's bait and the beast was there, lay down on the forest soil a huge bear weighing 340lb!
      A single accurate arrow pierced its heart!
      Now I could see the same shine in Luciano's face!
      Well, if you wants get you premium bear, I highly recommend Ron Ricciardi, with no doubts the best Master Guide I have meet in my life!
      Beware moose, bears and deer, Ron Riccardi is the guide who going to put you guys on our ( hunters ) aims!
      Thanks Ron, thanks again my friend!

      Nelson Neto Junior
      • Saturday, 23 February 2013 00:00
  • John LynnNH
    • Lucky enough to get a tag my first year of trying....yeah VERY lucky!!! Did my search of guides and Ron's name came up. Immediate response, great website and fantastic reviews. As I am a fairly new hunter I knew I needed the help of a good guide and I was NOT disappointed. I cannot say enough good things about Ron and his service. Accommodations outstanding, location great and Ron has more energy than any one person should have. He had to do a little hand wringing with my less than stellar shooting but I never felt anything from him but his desire to get me on a good moose and take home some meat for the freezer. Already thinking about another hunt with Ron. Highly recommend Ron without reservations!!!!
      • Friday, 23 November 2012 00:00
  • Claude and JenniferMaine
    • McMoose 2012
      My wife Jennifer and I have enjoyed two great weeks in The Great North Woods of Maine Moose hunting. The hunt really started weeks ago with all the planning and prep work. After checking inventory Jennifer and I made long lists of things we needed. We made many trips to Cabelas and the grocery store for supplies. Of course in our travels we always included a favorite restaurant to have lunch, talk through our progress, and regain energy loss from all the shopping. Jennifer.... who is a person with refined and discriminating taste....and who is very knowledgeable in the craft and art of food and food preparation....went into her gourmet cooking mode. She first prepared a menu for 14 nights of tasty, healthy dinners. She then cooked each meal and packaged it in a disposeable aluminum containers. After labeling the container she placed it in our freezer. This cooking plan allowed Jennifer free time in the evening after a long day in the field and still serve hot delicious meals. On our morning of departure we transfered these meals to our plug in car cooler for our trip to Eagle Lake Maine. It was a beautiful blue sky sunny day that found us driving north on I-95. Once we got past Bangor the foliage started showing fall colors and a car was rarely seen. After 315 miles of stress free scenic driving we arrived at North Maine Woods Guide Service at Eagle Lake Maine. Our guide/outfitter and good friend Ron Ricciardi greeted us and showed us to our home for the next two weeks. Ron's cabins are clean, comfortable and fully equipped with all the housekeeping essentials. The wide screen TV with many channels to choose from was great. We appreciated the two comfortable chairs where old guys like us could sit and view the lake and distant mountains and have a sundower while waiting for dinner to heat up in the oven. One of our favorite views was the evening sunset when the mountains would silhouette against the fiery sky with flocks of Canada Geese flying just above them. About Ron....Ron Ricciardi is truly a excellent representative of the outdoor fraternity. His experience, hunter ethics, honesty, integrity, hardwork, patience, dependability, and persistence is as good as it gets. To sum it up ....one could say "this is not Ron's first rodeo". The first week of our hunt mornings found us in the mountains scouting for Moose and enjoying the rapidly changing fall scenery. We did this with Ron at the wheel driving the many logging roads that crisscross the area. There are logging trucks hauling on these roads 24 hours a day. Truckers for safety reasons inform other truckers as to their whereabouts by broadcasting on their CB radios the number on the road mile marker signs as they pass. There is a mile marker sign every mile on these haul roads. For example....if we were at mile marker 7 going up (towards mile marker 8) and over our CB we hear a trucker say he was at mile marker 8 going down (towards mile marker 7) we would pull over and wait for him to pass. We sighted moose every day and gave most of them names. There was " one horn willie " "chicken head" " pretty boy" ....just to name a few. In the afternoon after lunch Jennifer and I would relax and relive the morning scouting events....sometimes going into the town of Eagle Lake to pick up milk etc and talk to the locals who are very friendly. The week of September 24th started Moose hunting season. We were up at 3:30 am and out the door at 5 am at which time Ron would pick us up. The first 3 days we spotted Moose everyday but nothing I was interested in. The fall foliage was now near peak and was truely spectacular. Finally on Thursday at 3:30 in the afternoon we spotted this big Dude chasing two cow- female moose. at 284 yards ( according to my rangefinder ) I ended my hunt with one well placed shot from my 30-378 Weatherby rifle. As happy as I was I was also sad....because now my hunt was over. Well Jennifer and I have finally settled back in here at home after two wonderful weeks at Eagle Lake Maine. From force of habit we are still looking down all the side roads and into the fields around here ( for Moose ) as we drive to the grocery store. We can still hear the logging truckers announcing over the CB which mile marker they are at. The grunting of that big Bull Moose as he slowly came in to Ron's cow call.... then hung up just out of sight 50 yards into the trees until shooting time was over is as clear now as it was that evening in the clearing at mile marker 8. Ron's command...Shoot that mother.... the roar of my 30-378 rifle and the slap of the 180 grain X- bullet are events that are still echoing in my mind. These are just a few of the many great memories from Moose season 2012 that Jennifer and I will relive over and over............Thanks Ron.
      • Sunday, 28 October 2012 00:00
  • tim wrightross,north dakota
    • If you're looking for a outfitter that goes the extra mile and has some of the biggest bears you will ever see, your search is over! I've hunted with many outfitters none compare to ron.If the level of service and success were all in one rating, he would be 5 stars across the board.3 years hunting with Ron should be proof enough. the cabins are clean and well equipped with all the appliances you will ever need.the meals served are first class and would rival 5 star restaurants.
      • Thursday, 18 October 2012 00:00
  • Tom StilesPocahontas IL
    • We just finished our first bear hunt with Ron. The amount of work and the attention to detail he puts in for his clients is outstanding. The lodging is way above average. As a bonus I took a very nice 240lb boar. Not to steal my hunting partner's thunder, I'm sure he'll post here too, who took a 275lb dry sow. Note that I saw bear the first day and took mine the second, my partner took his on the third day.I can't stress the need for a "brush gun" enough. I took this boar with a Kimber 84m in Federal.338,200 grain fusion bullet.Doesn't necessarily need to be this caliber, the locals seem to use the 35 Remington quite a bit. Hunters will be shooting at close to very close ranges and from conversations I had I don't believe a a higher velocity flatter shooting round would be beneficial. Listen to Ron,in my opinion he's an expert and will likely put you on a bear.
      • Monday, 17 September 2012 00:00
  • Kevin MeadowsSorento, Illinois
    • If you are looking for a place to hunt BEAR and a guide to set you up, Ron Ricciardi with North Maine Woods Guide Service is the right place.
      The amount of time and effort Ron puts in, is second to none. The cabin,food and treatment I recieved were much more than I had expected. I was able to harvest my bear a 275lb dry sow on the third day of my hunt, however we didn't recover her until the following day, after watching Ron crawling on his knees looking for blood, going the extra mile is his nature.
      • Monday, 17 September 2012 00:00
  • cody walkerdecatur , illinois
    • i and my father hunted with Ron in september of 2011 it was a birthday gift for my father. when we arrived it was late but Ron was waiting. the cabins were great very comfortable. we hunted every evening my father seen a big sow with 3 cubs the third evening. we hunted hard and the bears were not real active but we did what Ron said and stayed in our stands.on the 6th evening of my hunt i had a bear come into my stand. at 6 yrds and i stuck him with an arrow. Ron knew how important it was to me that my father get an oportunity at a bear and he did he also got his bear. Ron works very hard for your bear and will do everything he can to help you get it. just do as he says. and stay on you stand they have to come by sooner or later. i will be going back to hunt maine again and it will be with Ron. hopefully for a moose. thanks for all the effort Ron it was a awesome hunt and the fact that we both got bears was a great extra.
      • Wednesday, 11 April 2012 00:00
  • LH AmaralBarretos - SP - Brazil
    • I travelled all the way from southeast Brazil to Eagle Lake - ME - USA in order to get a huge black bear to my trophy room, Ron provided a warm and friendly hospitality, nice accomodations and worked really hard to get me the bear i wanted so much, i have had the chance to see two big bear(the smallest bear i saw was around 250 lbs) that came almost at the same time to the bait, they chased eachother and to witness it was a great experience... A huge bear came to the drum, so i chose to wait and make sure of a clear shot and not to rush an oportunity on a beautiful animal but it turn and got away just seconds before right time to pull the trigger of my crossbow. Adrenaline was flowing and it was an amazing experience, i really want a monster(like the one that didn't give me the shot) and Ron took me to the right place for that.
      Ron Jr. was recording the hunt and i got a lifetime memory with the awesome video from the bears chasing eachother and from me aiming the bear and etc.
      On fall 2012 i will return from Brazil to hunt bear with Ron again, this time bringing two friend's to share the experince.
      When it comes to a serious guide who works hard for you, Ron Ricciardi is the right name in the Beautifull Maine.
      Thanks Ron, see you next season 😉 !!!
      • Tuesday, 27 December 2011 00:00
  • Alden ClarkWaterford, CT
    • Ron, thanks for a great hunt. Getting up early was tough but Ron put my dad and I on a mature cow the morning of day 2. Saw some huge bulls which was pretty amazing, but it was their lucky day because we had a cow tag. Ron had a small bull trotting right up to the truck with his expert calling skills. The cabins were accommodating and a great added bonus. The hunt was awesome and definitely an experience of a lifetime. Thanks for tagging us our first moose!!!
      • Monday, 24 October 2011 00:00
  • joseph pugliesecolumbus NJ
    • I hunted this Oct. 10th to the 15th 2011 Moose season in Maine and I have to say it was a slow week but Ron and Darcys persistance paid off on Thursday when I got the chance I was waiting for all week! And was lucky to take a 48inch monster bull of a lifetime! It took 13 years to draw this take but it was well worth the wait and I take away memories and friendships that will last a lifetime. Thanks Darcy and Ron my cheerleader
      • Monday, 17 October 2011 00:00
  • Jordan LongestVirginia
    • Ron, thank you for all of your hard work and professionalism. I cannot believe that I shot such a big bear and cannot wait to do it agian. I would recommend North Maine Woods Guide Service for any hunter. Ron really enjoys seeing people harvest bears, and is really good at what he does. The cabins are first class and the hospitality couldn't get any better. If you are looking to go on a hunt look no further. Thanks again Ron.
      • Sunday, 16 October 2011 00:00
  • Patti ConradOhio
    • What a great hunt first week of season 2011 - of course it was great - I shot my first bear! Really enjoyed the week - Great guide service. Ron, along with his wife and family, provided delicious meals and were friendly and helpful. My husband Mike and I look forward to returning for another season of hunting. Ron really puts in the extra effort to increase the chances of a successful hunt.
      • Thursday, 15 September 2011 00:00
  • bill stonernewville, pa
    • wow what can i say, these guys are top notch! great cabins, great food, graet fun, great hunt. this was my first time with Ron on a bear hunt, well it will not be the last. we had such a great time and hunt, we booked again before we left! 
      thanks alot Ron and his wife Amy. anyone need info on this hunt or anything, call me or e mail anytime....book with this guy, you wont find anouther guy who will work harder to get your bear!
      • Tuesday, 13 September 2011 00:00
  • Ron CrispCape Cod MA
    • Had an amazing hunt fall 2010. With 20 years of experience as a professional fishing guide I am fully aware of what qualifies as exceptional service. Ron Ricciardi provided me with a hunt of a lifetime. Day one of the hunt I passed up two mature bull moose. One being at full draw under 30 yards. With Ron's expertise we opted to pass on the shot. On day two, Ron brought us to an area known as Jurassic Park, deep in the Maine woods were there were no signs of other hunters. After an intence day of hunting, we encountered a large bull moose which Ron was able to call into within three yards. At my own fault, my arrow slipped off my rest and the opportunity was lost. Ron assured me that I would have another shot at the bull. On day three we returned to the same area. Due to foul weather and heavy rain, Ron advised me to bring my rifle along with my bow. The rifle provided me with the ability to shoot a world class Boone and Crocket bull moose. The moose I ended up taking was not one I had seen on prior hunts. Thanks to Ron, this could be the largest bull moose shot in Maine during the 2010 season. I highly recommend his guide and hunting services to anyone who wants an exceptional hunting experience. Specifically, a bow hunters dream.
      • Thursday, 03 March 2011 00:00
  • Shane DufresneWaterbury, Ct
    • Another successful bear hunt with Ron Riccardi. Anyone wanting to see and get a chance to harvest big black bear, you really need to get up here and hook up with Ron. Ron gets you onto some bruisers. I have taken 3 bears in 4 years with him and the one year I didn't was because the weather was horrible. As always thanks to Amy and the girls for helping this make another unforgetable hunt.
      • Saturday, 02 October 2010 00:00
  • Renato CreaWaterbury Ct
    • Ron and Amy, thank you for the great bear hunt. I still can't believe I shot such a huge sow. 
      Truthfully the entire trip was wonderful, the cabin is awsome, and the supper at night was terrific. It is clear that you enjoy what you do, and put a tremendous amount of time and energy into your work. See you soon in the Woods!!!
      • Tuesday, 28 September 2010 00:00
  • Tommy MelchertIllinois Open Season TV
    • Ron, Thanks again for an amazing bear hunt. I came to North Maine Woods Guide Service on Sept 12 2010 and had the opportunity to hunt with Ron and harvest my first ever black bear on video. I have been alot of places hunting and this my friends is TOP NOTCH. The cabins are amazing the food was unbeatable and the hunting was EXTRAORDINARY. Ron had many pictures and videos from trail cameras to show me when I got there and really pumped me up. We saw some huge bears and harvested a solid bear on the third night with a bow at 15 yards. Ron really went the extra mile for us to make sure we were comfortable and were having a good time. If Maine has it Ron can put you on it for a shot opportunity, then it's up to you. If I were asked by ANYONE "where would you go to hunt for bear or moose"? I would undoubtedly say North Maine Woods Guide Service. If anyone needs me to further convince them this is the best place to hunt that money can buy don't hesitate to call. See you again soon Ron. Tommy Melchert Open Season TV.
      • Sunday, 26 September 2010 00:00
  • Steve WagnerPennsylvania
    • Ron,
      Just wanted to thank you for a great time, the cabin was awesome. I really enjoyed the bear hunt even though it only lasted one night..lol. Ron is a hard working guide who will get you your game. If you need to use me as a reference please feel free. thanks again, Steve & Belinda Wagner.
      • Thursday, 23 September 2010 00:00
  • Steve and Jamie JacobsMillinocket, Maine
    • Ron, We just want to thank you again for an amazing Moose Hunt, we all had a wonderful time. He kept bringing us back to these fields and after being hunters ourselves for many years we couldn't believe we were hunting in a field for moose. Only after 10 short minutes of calling he pulled our bull out of a swamp over a half mile away. The moose then walked by the other truck in our party at which time they informed us over the radio. They had no idea we were only a few hundred yds away waiting so when we ran up over the hill there he was coming right to Ron's call. All six of us in the party were witness to the kill. We are now true believer's in his abilities and would reccomend to anyone that want's a great hunt and amazing experience to go with the North Maine Woods Guide Service. Never doubt the guide, Ron is one of the best and his calling abilities are truely amazing!!
      • Monday, 05 October 2009 00:00
  • Mark and Billi JacobsRockland, Maine
    • Ron - just wanted to say thank you again for an awesome moose hunt, what an adventure. It was really special to watch our sixteen year old son get his first moose along with my brother getting his as well. You are very passionate at what you do and are the best. We will definitively be back next year. We'll send some lobsters your way real soon. Thanks!! Mark and Billi
      • Sunday, 04 October 2009 00:00
  • DonNew Jersey
    • I hunted with NMWGS and have to say it was one great hunt. I have hunted all over the US and Ron was one of if not the best guide I ever had. If you are thinking about booking a hunt think no longer this is the place to go ! The cabins are something you would want to live in not just hunt out of.

      Thank you for memories I will never forget.
      • Wednesday, 27 May 2009 00:00
  • Joel ArnoldColumbus, OH
    • Ron is a 1st class guide! I took my first bear with him in August of 2008. I plan on coming back for many more hunting experiences, hopefully I'll draw my Moose tag! North Maine Woods Guide Service is unlike any other camps I've been too. First class facilities, and a perfect place to bring the family to, or that first time hunter!
      • Monday, 02 March 2009 00:00
  • Jeremy Helms (Monster Rack AdvKansas
    • Hey, I found your website from whitetailaffliction.com I am an outfitter from kansas and i was just wanting to say that your prices for your hunts are unbeatable. We do the same thing for our hunts so many people can afford and enjoy their time here. I will definetly be booking a hunt with you in the future for bear or moose.
      • Saturday, 28 February 2009 00:00
  • Shane DufresneWaterbury, Ct
    • Another year hunting with Ron and it was a huge success. A 538 pound black bear, possible a state record for the year. As always the cabin is awesome. For anyone planning on staying here, you will thoroughly enjoy it. The cabins have everything you need, the area is beautiful and Ron and Amy do not treat you like guests, you are treated like family. Ron, thanks again for everything....hope to see you next year.
      • Thursday, 25 September 2008 00:00
  • John Maria and Lindsey SheltonNathalie Va.
    • Ron Amy and children, What an absolutely fantastic time we had at your beautiful place. The cabins and scenery were wonderful and my daughter getting her bear and Ron putting me on my 402 lb. monster were just icing on the cake. People, this guide and his family are for real!!!!!!!!! Ron, you are one fantastic guide and anyone wanting a great hunt with a guide that loves hunting would do well to book with you. Ron jr. your knife is commited to paper and will soon be a reality. Can't wait to send it to you! The friendship, laughter and good times won't soon be forgotten and we can't wait to come back! Look forward to hearing from yall. Sincerely, The Sheltons
      • Friday, 12 September 2008 00:00
  • Steve FicarroPrinceton NJ
    • Hi Ron, Amy, Ronnie, Kimmy and Sammy,

      I just wanted to take a few minutes to tell other people how we met. It was my first time beer hunting in Maine 1980. Ron was guiding for his father, Benjamin Ricciardi, who owned and operated Chubby's Sportsmens Inn. When I arrived at camp Ron and his dad greeted me and my frends who invited me to hunt with them. Every one was so friendly. The camp was top shelf from the rooms to the lodging andthe food. The next day Ron took me to a HOT BEAR STAND! I saw so many bears I thought he was letting them out of cages. I was shaking so hard I missed every bear I shot at. That night Ron and I talked about how I needed to take a few deep breaths and relax. The next day ron took me back out and I killed my first black bear. When Ron came to get me I asked him if it was a nice bear he said oh ya then he asked me if i wanted to ride in the back of the truck on the way home so the bear wouldn't blow out on the way home. I cracked up and Ron and I became best friends from that day on. I went back every year and killed some really nice bears. My wife and I went to their wedding I remember when little Ronnie was born. He's not so little any more. Ron and Amy asked me to be Ronnie's god father. I was honored. Then came Kimmy and Sammy. Ron and Amy were blessed with a beautiful family. I bought property there and can't wait to build a cabin. Ron and his family have spent many of good times with MaryLee and I in New Jersey, and we have spent many good times with them in Maine. We're like family now any one who goes there would see what I mean 4/1/08
      PS IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GOOD HUNT FISHING OR A GREAT PLACE TO GET AWAY ITS BEAUTIFUL.
      Love you guys, Steve and MaryLee Ficarro 
      I LOVE YOU GUYS STEVE,MARYLEE FICARRO.
      • Tuesday, 01 April 2008 00:00
  • Gary G.Missouri
    • The stay was really great, the moose was more than I could ever have hoped for. Thanks for working your b*** off to the "The Big One, I'll never forget it. And for whoever reads this, Listen to your guide!!! Ron will do you right and if you ever need to check on that, Ron will give you my number.
      • Saturday, 29 September 2007 00:00
  • Brett W.
    • Hands Down...This was the Best Hunting Adventure I have experienced. Ron is a great Guide but more importantly a hoot to be around. The cabin was great, The hunt was great, The the laughs were the Best.

      Ron- Thanks for your overwhelming hospitality & will see you next year.
      • Saturday, 29 September 2007 00:00
  • JeremyWarrensburg, MO
    • I've been hunting all over the United States and have never met a guide that was more willing to go the extra mile for his clients. Thank you for the great experience.
      • Friday, 28 September 2007 00:00
  • John JuraskaWaterbury,CT
    • I had an awesome time hunting with Ron, he went out of his way to make this a really enjoyable experience.My hunting partner and I both left with nice black bears.This is a beutiful topnotch outfitter and I would reccomend him to anyone.
      • Monday, 17 September 2007 00:00
  • ShaneCt
    • This is a top notch facility. We stayed in a log cabin that was truly incredible. We were treated like royalty by Ron and his family. Ron is an incredible guide and his knowledge will almost certainly get you a shot at a bear. He did everything from soup to nuts and made the trip truly memoriable. We both were able to harvest a bear and will be back for next year. Thanks again for everything.
      • Sunday, 16 September 2007 00:00
  • Neal Y.Galveston, TX
    • This has been incrediable. I have been on over a dozen guided hunts. I must rate this as one of the very best. Your hospitality is unsurpassed. Ron is a professional, with the ability and knowledge of the area to find game. Ron took the time to show us the area when we were not hunting. His goal is to insure his hunters a memorable experience. 
      I was caught here during hurricane Rita (I live in Galveston.) Amy changed my reservations from Sat. to Wed. and they continued to take great care of me until my departure. I'll be back.
      • Thursday, 25 September 2014 00:00
  • Nick GMaryland
    • While we hunted together, we saw 31 moose (19 cows and 12 bulls, WOW!! The moose I harvested was an impressive bull (900 pounds with a nice rack). We had quite an adventure with our 300 yard drag to get the moose out of the woods. You are one of the hardest working and conscientious individuals that I have ever met. Your family treated my family with generous hospitality. Thank you for making the Maine 2006 moose season very special for my family and me.
      • Monday, 01 January 2007 01:01
  • Don SmithColorado
    • Dear Ron, Amy and Children,
      Pat and myself have hunted and fished all over North America. I have to say that this trip has been one of the Best. The cabin is first class in every way. You have been without a doubt the hardest working guide I have ever had in all my trips over the years. You have a wonderful family and all have made us welcome. The scenery is breath taking. I can assure you that we will return. You may use me for references for all the services that you provide.

      Thank you so very much,
      Col. Don Smith Retired, USAF